In This Article

  1. The Company Record, In Its Own Words
  2. Five Brand Names, One Manufacturer
  3. What the 2011 ENERGY STAR List Shows
  4. Why This Is Not a Scandal
  5. What the List Does and Does Not Prove
  6. The Current GeoComfort Line
  7. The Warranty, Read Carefully
  8. How to Shop This Brand
  9. What We Could Not Source

Enertech Global says it manufactures geothermal and water-source heat pumps, that it started in 1996 as a distributor, began manufacturing in 2007, and builds equipment in Mitchell, South Dakota under the Enertech and GeoComfort names. Independent information about the company is scarce. A September 5, 2026 search found the company's own sites, its social media accounts and a handful of directory listings, but no substantive third-party review.

One independent document did turn up, and it is old. On a federal ENERGY STAR qualified-product list posted December 15, 2011, "Enertech Manufacturing, LLC" had 170 certified rows under five brand names, and for nearly all of them the certified efficiency figures were identical from one brand to the next. In 2011, the brand name alone was a poor guide to certified performance: many ratings appeared under multiple Enertech brands. That is nearly fifteen years ago. It does not prove identical equipment, and it says nothing about what the company sells in 2026. The same December 15, 2011 document showed the same pattern at Carrier, Bryant, ClimateMaster and WaterFurnace, so the useful takeaway is a shopping method rather than a verdict on one company.

170
Rows under "Enertech Manufacturing, LLC" on the ENERGY STAR qualified-product list posted December 15, 2011
5
Brand names those 2011 rows carried: GeoComfort, Tetco, Hydron Module, Hydron, Roth Industries
167 of 170
Rows on the 2011 list whose (type, COP, EER) rating another Enertech brand name in the same list also carried
10 yr / 5 yr
Company-stated terms: "10-Year Warranty on All Unit Components" and a separate "5-Year Labor Allowance Credit"

The Company Record, In Its Own Words

Everything in this section comes from two pages on Enertech's own website, "About Us" and "Enertech Brands," read on September 5, 2026. Both are company-authored, so every sentence below is Enertech's account rather than an independent finding.

The company says it began in 1996. Its About page states: "Enertech, Inc., the original company, was founded in 1996 by Steve and Karen Smith as a geothermal heat pump distributor." Enertech describes "people come first" as its founding philosophy. The move into manufacturing came about a decade later, in the company's telling: "The growth of the company led to the founding of Enertech Manufacturing in 2007 after acquiring Hydron Module, LLC." Hydron Module is one of the five brand names that ran through the December 15, 2011 federal list.

On ownership, the About page says: "In 2011, we took on a new investor in NIBE Industrier AB, the 8,000 employee strong European company." It adds: "Then, as NIBE approached to invest, we became Enertech Global." The page does not disclose the size of NIBE's stake or the terms of the investment. The address the company publishes is 2506 S Elm Street, Greenville, Illinois 62246, which the page does not label a headquarters. The "Enertech Brands" page puts production in another state: "We build the following geothermal and water-source heat pump brands at our production facility in Mitchell, South Dakota."

Two more items from that page fill in the brand history. "In 2012, Enertech acquired certain assets of GeoSystems, LLC including their brands." The page shows the acquired brand names only as images, not text, so they are not named here. Then: "In 2025, Enertech consolidated our Hydron Module and Tetco in-house brands into our Enertech and GeoComfort brands." As of that statement the in-house list is down to two names, Enertech and GeoComfort, and the company's pages do not explain what distinguishes one from the other. The December 15, 2011 list shows the same question ran across its earlier brands.

Five Brand Names, One Manufacturer

The ENERGY STAR program, run jointly by the EPA and the Department of Energy, publishes lists of products that met its efficiency thresholds. One of those documents is titled "ENERGY STAR Geothermal Heat Pump Qualified Product List," with the header "List Posted on December 15, 2011" and the line "Below are currently qualified ENERGY STAR models available for sale in the U.S." The word "currently" meant December 2011. The list predates the 2012 GeoSystems acquisition and the 2025 brand consolidation, so it cannot describe the current lineup. It documents Enertech's brand and certification structure in 2011 only, and it is the one independent, non-company document about this manufacturer's equipment that turned up.

Parsed on September 5, 2026, the document held 170 certified rows under the organisation name "Enertech Manufacturing, LLC," carrying five brand names:

Roth Industries needs a scope note. It appears in the Enertech Manufacturing block of the December 15, 2011 list, and that is the full extent of what the list says. None of the company pages cited here mention Roth, and no current Roth relationship could be verified.

The strongest pattern is in the ratings. Group every one of those 170 rows by product type, certified COP and certified EER and you get 53 distinct rating combinations, 50 of them shared by more than one brand name. Counted by row rather than by combination, 167 of the 170 rows sit on a rating that another brand in the same list also carried.

What the 2011 ENERGY STAR List Shows

COP, coefficient of performance, is heating output divided by electrical input. Higher is better. EER, energy efficiency ratio, is the cooling equivalent, in Btu per watt-hour. The December 15, 2011 list reported both for open-loop and closed-loop operation. Our guide to geothermal efficiency ratings covers what EER and COP measure, including the test conditions that affect them.

Those conditions are the catch here. The December 15, 2011 list gave numbers but not the entering-water and entering-air temperatures they were measured at, and its header does not state which rating standard produced them. So these figures should not be laid beside a 2026 specification sheet from any manufacturer. Their value is in comparing rows within the same document.

The clearest match is between the Hydron "H Series" and the GeoComfort "Serenity" line. Read directly from the December 15, 2011 PDF:

Hydron model (2011 list) GeoComfort model (2011 list) Open loop COP / EER Closed loop COP / EER
H Series H018Serenity GS GS0184.3 / 21.73.7 / 18.9
H Series H024Serenity GS GS0244.3 / 20.73.7 / 18.0
H Series H042Serenity GS GS0424.8 / 22.04.2 / 17.0
H Series H048Serenity GS GS0484.0 / 20.53.5 / 17.8
H Series H060Serenity GS GS0604.0 / 18.63.5 / 16.2
H Series Dual H038Serenity GT GT0364.5 / 23.13.7 / 21.0
H Series Dual H062Serenity GT GT0604.3 / 22.53.7 / 19.0
H Series Dual H073Serenity GT GT0724.1 / 19.23.5 / 16.7

Source: ENERGY STAR Geothermal Heat Pump Qualified Product List, posted December 15, 2011. Each row shows two brand names under Enertech Manufacturing, LLC carrying identical certified figures. These are historical figures and do not describe any current product.

Eight sizes, eight matched pairs, and in every case the Hydron unit and the GeoComfort unit carried the same four certified numbers. The "Dual" Hydron units even had slightly different digits from their GeoComfort twins (H038 against GT036, H062 against GT060, H073 against GT072), so the model number alone would not have paired them. The certified figures did: the paired models received identical ratings, though the list cannot establish whether their components or construction matched.

One entry on the December 15, 2011 list is a three-way match. Three products, three brand names, three model numbers, one set of certified figures:

Compass, Revolution, ES4: each had its own marketing name. On the December 15, 2011 federal list all three carried identical certified figures, and only the first letter of the model number differed.

Why This Is Not a Scandal

Read on their own, those rows would make Enertech look unusual. The same December 15, 2011 document says otherwise.

Carrier Corporation and Bryant, the latter listed as "Systems (Carrier Corporation)," published the same model number, 50YEH0183, under both brand names with identical figures: open loop COP 4.5 / EER 24.8, closed loop COP 3.6 / EER 18.4. Not a prefix-letter variation. The identical model number, under two brands.

ClimateMaster's Tranquility 20 TSH018 carried those same figures on the same December 15, 2011 list: open 4.5 / 24.8, closed 3.6 / 18.4. Whatever the arrangement behind that match, a Carrier, a Bryant and a ClimateMaster at that size were indistinguishable on paper. Our ClimateMaster review covers that company's current line separately.

And WFI Industries, the company behind WaterFurnace, listed WaterFurnace and GeoStar as separate brands in the same December 15, 2011 document. Our WaterFurnace review looks at that manufacturer on its own terms.

So the fair reading is this. Selling one rated machine under several brand names was standard practice across the geothermal industry in 2011. Enertech's rows carried five names, and the Carrier and WFI examples cited here carried two each. That is a difference of degree, not of kind, and nothing in the December 15, 2011 list suggests any of these companies was hiding anything. The list was public. The figures were right there for anyone who read down the column.

What the practice means for a buyer is simpler than any accusation. Brand name is a weak signal in geothermal equipment. It was weak in 2011, and the company's own pages do not explain what distinguishes the surviving brands from each other, so there is no basis for assuming it has become a strong one. Compare the model number and the certified figures instead. The shopping section below says how.

What the List Does and Does Not Prove

The December 15, 2011 list proves that, at that time, the products in the matched rows carried identical certified ratings under different brand names. When three entries from one manufacturer share those figures with model numbers differing by a prefix letter, the plain reading is that they were rated as the same equipment โ€” which is a statement about the rating, not about every component behind it.

It does not prove anything else. Specifically, the list says nothing about:

A rebadged unit is not a worse unit. In the cases above, the certified performance was by definition the same as its twin's. The point is narrower: the brand name alone did not distinguish the certified performance, and if two dealers quoted different prices for a Hydron H048 and a GeoComfort GS048 in 2011, the certified performance would not have explained the gap.

The Current GeoComfort Line

GeoComfort's "Residential Products" page, read September 5, 2026, lists the following families with the capacity ranges the company gives for each. This is the company describing its own catalogue:

The page listed two further families whose capacities appeared without units in the retrieved text, so they are omitted rather than guessed at.

No efficiency figure for any current Enertech or GeoComfort model was obtained. The sources cited here publish no COP, EER or other certified rating for the families above. The two places such figures would normally be verified were not searched to a result: the AHRI certified directory, which requires querying model by model, and ENERGY STAR's current certification data, whose status for any Enertech or GeoComfort model was not confirmed.

So there is no way to say here how efficient a 2026 GeoComfort unit is, and the 2011 numbers are no substitute, because they describe historical products listed on December 15, 2011. If a dealer hands you a spec sheet, the shopping section explains what to do with it.

One more gap. Whether the current Enertech-branded and GeoComfort-branded lines are distinct products, the same products through different dealer channels, or something in between is not addressed on the company pages cited.

The Warranty, Read Carefully

Enertech publishes a page titled "Enertech's Heat Pump Warranties," read September 5, 2026. What follows is a reading of that page. The full binding warranty contract, with its exclusions, was not obtained, and a summary page is not a contract. For how geothermal warranties are structured across the industry, our geothermal warranty guide is the place to start.

The headline terms on the page are two separate items: "10-Year Warranty on All Unit Components" and "5-Year Labor Allowance Credit."

Read those as two different things, because they are. Parts coverage runs ten years. The labor provision runs five, and it is not labor coverage in the way most people would use the phrase. It is an allowance. The company's own wording: "Enertech's labor allowance is intended to assist in the offset of contractor's repair costs and may not cover the full amount of labor charged by the servicing contractor. This labor allowance is transferable from the original homeowner to a new homeowner."

The industry shorthand "ten-year parts and labor" is not what this page says. It says ten-year parts, and a five-year credit toward labor that "may not cover the full amount." If a dealer describes the coverage as "ten years parts and labor," ask them to show you where the warranty page says that, because the page does not.

None of this is a gotcha. It is what the company published on its own site, and it is worth understanding before you sign.

The remaining terms, in the company's words:

Registration. "After installation, register and double-check your coverage online using the serial number within 60 days of completion." And: "All information on warranty registration must be the homeowner's accurate information for warranty to be valid." Sixty days is not long. Do it yourself rather than assuming the installer did.

The extended option. "For the original homeowner, Enertech offers an extended warranty that covers a one-time component replacement of the compressor and all-aluminum microchannel air coil (if applicable) once the 10-year coverage ends. The additional coverage lasts 18 years from the installation date." Note three limits inside that sentence: original homeowner only, one-time replacement, and only the compressor and air coil. The page also states: "The Option 18 extended warranty is unavailable for WV and Advantage heat pumps." The WV is the variable-speed water-to-water family in the current GeoComfort list above.

Commercial. "Commercial warranty options vary depending on the project, but the standard includes coverage on all internal system components for one year."

Where you buy. "Enertech Global and its brand, GeoComfort, do not sell systems, products, and/or accessories directly to homeowners." Enertech directs homeowners to licensed contractors for purchase and for technical service.

The ground loop. The cited warranty page does not address the ground loop, the loop field, boreholes, grout or circulating fluid at all. That is not the same as saying the loop is excluded. The page is silent, and the binding contract that would settle the question was not obtained. Ask, in writing, who warrants it and for how long. Our installation cost guide explains why the loop carries so much of the price.

A related open question: whether equipment sold under the Hydron Module name before the 2025 consolidation keeps these same terms. The pages read do not say.

How to Shop This Brand

Everything above earns one practical method. It applies to Enertech and GeoComfort, and just as well to any manufacturer on the December 15, 2011 list.

  1. Get the full model number, not the family name. "A GeoComfort YT" is a family; the complete model string is a product. The December 15, 2011 list showed that prefix and suffix letters carried the meaning, so ask the dealer to write the whole string on the quote.

  2. Ask for the certified figures and the conditions behind them. A COP and an EER without the entering-water and entering-air temperatures are not comparable to anything. Ask for the rating sheet showing the test standard and conditions, and if you are comparing two quotes, make sure both were rated the same way. Our efficiency ratings guide explains what to look for.

  3. Check the AHRI directory yourself. It is the independent register of certified ratings, it was reachable on September 5, 2026, and it is searched model by model. Once a dealer gives you a full model number you can confirm the rating there rather than taking a brochure figure on trust.

  4. If two badges are quoted, compare the numbers before the names. If a GeoComfort unit and an Enertech-branded unit at the same tonnage show the same certified figures, that establishes matching rated performance under those test conditions, not identical equipment. What is left to compare is dealer, price, warranty program and service. That is a legitimate comparison, often the more important one, but be clear that is what you are doing.

  5. Read the warranty as two terms, not one. Ten years on parts. Five years of a labor allowance that "may not cover the full amount." Ask what the allowance pays per repair and what the dealer's labor rate is. That difference is your exposure in the first five years, and from year six through year ten the labor may be entirely yours.

  6. Get the loop warranty in writing from whoever installs the loop. The manufacturer's page does not address it.

  7. Register within 60 days, with your own information. The company says the registration must carry accurate homeowner information for the warranty to be valid.

For a wider view of how this manufacturer sits against others, our roundup of geothermal heat pump brands covers the field.

What We Could Not Source

A review is only as honest as its list of gaps. As of September 5, 2026, the following could not be obtained, and nothing above should be read as filling them in:

  1. Current AHRI certified performance data for any Enertech or GeoComfort model. The directory was reachable on September 5, 2026 but is searched model by model, and no model-level query was run.

  2. Current ENERGY STAR certification status for any Enertech or GeoComfort model. The only ENERGY STAR document used here is dated December 15, 2011.

  3. The rated conditions behind the 2011 figures. The list posted December 15, 2011 gives COP and EER but not the entering-water and entering-air temperatures, and its header does not state which rating standard was applied. None is asserted here.

  4. The difference between the current Enertech and GeoComfort lines. The sources cited here publish no explanation of the engineering or market distinction between the two surviving brands.

  5. Whether pre-2025 Hydron Module equipment keeps the same warranty terms after the consolidation into Enertech and GeoComfort.

  6. The complete binding warranty contract and its exclusions. Only the summary page was read.

  7. The names of the brands acquired from GeoSystems, LLC in 2012. The company's page shows them only as images.

  8. Any independent third-party review of these products. A search on September 5, 2026 returned the company's own sites, LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, an IGSHPA directory listing, BBB, Bloomberg, RocketReach and an ACHR News directory entry. No independent review of the equipment was among the results.

Items one, two and eight together describe a significant limit on what could be independently verified: the only independent performance data obtained is the nearly fifteen-year-old list posted December 15, 2011. That is not a mark against Enertech specifically. It does mean the dealer's spec sheet, the AHRI listing for the exact model quoted, and the warranty contract you actually sign carry more weight than anything you will read online, including this page.

Key Takeaway

On a federal ENERGY STAR list posted December 15, 2011, Enertech Manufacturing's 170 certified rows carried five brand names, and 167 of those rows sat on a rating that another of its brands also carried. The same document shows Carrier and Bryant sharing a model number, ClimateMaster matching their figures, and WaterFurnace and GeoStar listed side by side. Rebadging was industry-normal in that 2011 document, and current products should still be compared by complete model number and certified performance rather than assumed equivalent. On the warranty, read the company's own terms as two separate items, ten years on parts and a five-year labor allowance that "may not cover the full amount," and get the ground-loop warranty in writing from whoever installs the loop. No current efficiency figures for any Enertech or GeoComfort model could be obtained.

Sources

  1. Enertech Global โ€” About Us. Founding year, founders, 2007 manufacturing start, NIBE investment, published address. Company statements. Verified September 5, 2026 (HTTP 200)
  2. Enertech Global โ€” Enertech Brands. Mitchell, South Dakota production facility, 2012 GeoSystems asset acquisition, 2025 consolidation of Hydron Module and Tetco into Enertech and GeoComfort. Company statements. Verified September 5, 2026 (HTTP 200)
  3. EPA/DOE ENERGY STAR โ€” ENERGY STAR Geothermal Heat Pump Qualified Product List, "List Posted on December 15, 2011." All brand counts, rating-combination counts, matched-pair figures, the three-way GXT024B/HXT024B/TXT024B row, and the Carrier/Bryant, ClimateMaster and WFI Industries entries. Independent government document; historical, not current. Verified September 5, 2026 (HTTP 200)
  4. Enertech Global โ€” Enertech's Heat Pump Warranties. Headline terms, labor allowance wording, registration window, Option 18 extended coverage and its exclusions, commercial terms, dealer-only sales. Company statements; the binding contract was not obtained. Verified September 5, 2026 (HTTP 200)
  5. GeoComfort โ€” Residential Products. Current product families and capacity ranges. Company statements; no current efficiency figures were obtained from the page. Verified September 5, 2026 (HTTP 200)